Health Ministry Vows To Contain New Ebola Outbreak

25 November 2015, 1:29 pm Written by 
Published in Ebola Update
Read 1604 times

MONROVIA, November 24 (LINA) – Deputy Health Minister and Chief Medical Officer of Liberia, Dr. Francis Kateh, has assured the public that the ministry will exert all efforts to contain the Ebola disease which has resurfaced in the country.

Kateh urged the public to remain calm as the ministry is working diligently to put the situation under control, adding, “We want to inform the public that we are in full control of the situation.”

Addressing the Ministry of Information regular press conference in Monrovia Tuesday, Kateh called on Liberians to maintain the same level of vigilance that made the country victorious over the virus when it first struck the country.

On November 19, Liberia’s Ebola-free status was for the second time jeopardized by the emergence of three new cases in Du-port Road Community in Paynesville, outside Monrovia.

Although the MOH also announced on Tuesday the death of the 15-year-old boy who was identified as the index case, a massive contact tracing initiative by the Ministry identified 152 contacts,  25 of which are healthcare personnel.

The newest outbreak brings to four the number of successive waves of the hemorrhagic Ebola Virus Disease (EVD) the nation has witnessed since it first surfaced in March 2014.
Liberia’s quest to become an Ebola-free nation was for the first time hampered on March 21, 2015 after a woman in the Cardwell community tested positive of the Ebola Virus following sexual intercourse with a male Ebola survivor.

Although the nation completed the countdown and was declared Ebola free on May 9, 2015, the trend of infection was reintroduced on June 29, 2015 after a 17- year-old boy in lower Margibi County tested positive of the virus.

The nation was declared Ebola free for the second time on September 3, 2015 by the WHO after a successful fight to contain the virus which has since killed over 11,000 people in the three Mano River Union countries of Liberia, Guinea and Sierra Leone.

Rate this item
(0 votes)